Menu
Log in



Talking Points

Asheville City Council members will ultimately decide on how the 767 New Haw Creek Road property gets develops. That's why it's critical to contact them directly, and preferably individually. Speak from the heart or use the talking points below. 

Write to City Council members directly:

~ Esther Manheimer, Mayor: esthermanheimer@avlcouncil.com

~ Sandra Kilgore, Vice-Mayor: sandrakilgore@avlcouncil.com

~ Antanette Mosley, Council member: antanettemosley@avlcouncil.com

~ Kim Roney, Council member: kimroney@avlcouncil.com

~ Sheneika Smith, Council member: sheneikasmith@avlcouncil.com

~ Sage Turner, Council member: sageturner@avlcouncil.com

~ Maggie Ullman, Council member: maggieullman@avlcouncil.com


For more details see Meet City Council.


In addition, submit a letter-to-the-editor. These letters are the most widely read items in local newspapers. Short and concise is best. Again, speak from the heart or use the talking points below. 


Asheville Citizen-Times:

Letters up to 250 words accepted. Please include your name, address, daytime phone number (for verification) and email address. Email submissions to letters@citizen-times.com. Letters are printed on Sundays and Wednesdays.


Mountain Xpress:

Letters up to 300 words accepted. Please include your name, address, and daytime phone number (for verification). Email submissions to letters@mountainx.com.



Talking Points

Conditional Zoning (CZ)

Any residential development exceeding 49 homes requires a vote by Asheville City Council. An important element of any CZ vote is the ability of City Council to put conditions on the development agreement. In this case, we want City Council to condition any approval on significant tree preservation, traffic safety improvements, or other terms important to the Haw Creek community. 

Growth and Development

Haw Creek residents recognize Asheville is growing and will continue to grow. We recognize new housing is needed in all areas including Haw Creek. With this understanding should be a commitment to balancing new development with improvements to maintain and enhance the physical community. We are still waiting for the new sidewalk promised in the 2016 bond referendum. 

Traffic Impact

At present, NCDOT reports 6,300 cars a day use New Haw Creek Road. The addition of 95 homes is expected to add 847 trips per day, a 13% increase. There are already significant backups associated with drop offs and pickups at the two schools located on this road. The developer nor the City nor NCDOT have any plans to make improvements to New Haw Creek Road.

Loss of Tree Habitat

At present 53% of the land on which the proposed development is located is tree covered. After this development is completed tree coverage will drop to 12%. In a community that calls itself Tree City USA, we can and must do better. A condition of the Conditional Zoning must be--at a minimum--conservation easement protection of the six acres bordering Evergreen Community Charter School and the Happy Valley subdivision. 

Loss of Animal Habitat

Surrounding residents report this property is home to bears, other large mammals and a variety of other wildlife. Once developed, this habitat will be lost forever. This is another reason the forest area must be protected. 

We Can Do Better

Many residents are dismayed by the lack of imagination shown in the design of the housing development. All interior roads are dead-end and lacking connectedness. The proposed greenway does not connect to other walking infrastructure. The proposed greenway, if it were a loop trail on both sides of the creek, would be much improved.  

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software